Homeschool vs. Other

A friend recently emailed me to ask my opinion about switching from homeschooling her children to placing them in a charter school. Her specific question was if I had ever considered any other options. In the thirteen years that we have homeschooled I can honestly say that I have never thought of doing anything differently than homeschooling my children. Well, at least not any serious thoughts. Like all homeschooling mothers who have had a particularly hard day or week, I have had my moments of wishing I could just send them off to school where all problems magically disappear. But when reality is figured into the equation, the pro’s far outweigh the con’s and we look for new solutions to our struggles and difficulties and continue down the path of home education. This is MY family’s reality though. Just because homeschooling works best for us doesn’t mean it is the best answer for other families. It would do us all a bit of good to remember that God calls us to different tasks and we need to support one another in answering that call.  I should probably put that last line on my mirror as a reminder.

I think it is a very natural response for parents who have switched from traditional schools to home schooling to have very strong convictions about what they are doing. In the transition phase, we are often quick to self-doubt and the psychological response to those doubts is to make it the one, only and best option in our mind. I think it is a survival technique, actually. I see it over and over again with “new” homeschooling families. A key indicator is when we have strong feelings of “oh, I could never. . .” or ” we will always . . .”  I have to admit that I did this as well and continue to have a tendency to have all-or-nothing thoughts with any major shift in life style changes. After all, if it’s good for me it must be good for you too.

The short answer to my friend’s question and to anyone who is trying to make educational decisions for their children is to pray. God has a plan for each of us. The more we seek out what His plan is for us and for our children, the more peace and joy we will find in our lives. Fourteen years ago I swore to a friend that I would never homeschool (See, there’s that “never” word).  Less than a year later I heard the distinctive call to homeschool. I won’t say we do not question our decision.  We review it at least on an annual basis and we have had plenty of moments of self-doubt. We spent thousands of dollars in family court seeking the right to homeschool our oldest child only to lose in court to ignorance and prejudice. Our families questioned our decision in the beginning.  We even got into a few heated discussions with close family members.  I am fairly certain there is still some doubt on the part of others, but mostly we hear praise and encouragement.  We felt called to homeschool and have continued to hear that call in every year since. God gave us the grace and faith to move forward and the blessings of following that call are too numerous to count. Whether God is calling you to homeschool or to any other form of education for your children, He will equip you to follow Him. The very fact that you are humbly seeking the best for your children shows that God has already blessed you with wisdom and humility.

One thought on “Homeschool vs. Other

Leave a Reply

