I Did It

He stacked his bananas!

He stacked his bananas!


That is my toddler’s favorite exclamation, “I did it!” He is so proud of the smallest achievement and wants to make sure that I was witness to it. “I did it, Mom. I did it”. It just makes a mother’s heart melt and then overfill with love and pride, even when the achievement was to stack his cut banana slices into a tower. Well, that is how I feel today: like a toddler who has just achieved a task that was daunting to him, but simple in the eyes of those with lots more experience. My success? I wrote seven blogs in seven days. I know it doesn’t seem like much, but I will let you in on a few secrets.

1. My brain doesn’t work as well as it used to. I have trouble putting my thoughts into coherent sentences and my husband often says, “Can you finish a sentence so that I can understand you?” So, writing one post in a week is really an achievement for me these days.

2. I have seven kids at home, most under the age of nine. Finding the uninterrupted time to write was a real challenge, especially since I don’t function before 9 am or after 9 pm.

3. I am terribly self-conscious and concerned with what others will think, if I will offend someone, or if I just sound totally stupid. I love to make other people laugh, but not necessarily at me. This is much more easily accomplished face-to-face than in the printed word. Kudos to Simcha Fisher, Jen Fulwiler, and Rebecca Frech! They are my favorite reads and inspiration and make me laugh, cry and sometimes do both simultaneously. A special thank you to Jen for putting the challenge out on her own blog, Conversion Diary.

So, you may be wondering why I blog at all. Maybe not, but I’ll tell you anyway. The reason I do it is for myself. Not for you, not for my husband and not for my kids. For the first time in nearly twenty years, I am doing something just for myself. Don’t get me wrong. I love being a stay-at-home mom. I really enjoy my kids and watching them grow into confident, independent young adults, and I love every aspect of homeschooling: the lesson plans, the teaching, and the school supplies. But, everything else that I do is motivated out of service to my husband or children and this is just something that I enjoy, just because. Of course, I hope you enjoy my writing as well. I pray that it inspires or lifts up my readers, or at a minimum makes you smile. But, at the very core I am doing it for me. It helps me to be grounded and self-aware. It is challenging me to step out of my comfort zone and the little bubble of a world that I live in. It makes me think about my thoughts and about how others perceive experiences. It gives me a way to share my Catholic faith and my little way of life in this great big world. So, I will definitely keep on writing; but, not at the record rate of one blog per day. Once school starts back full force, I’ll be lucky to type a post each week! I hope you enjoyed my marathon blogging and I would love to hear which post has been your favorite so far. The reason I started the blog was for me. The reason that I will continue to do so is because it is making some small difference for someone else. Thank you to all of you who have encouraged me and for those who have chimed in with comments, especially on Facebook. I’m open to suggestions for future posts as well.

And, Oh! Mom, I did it! Look! I really did it.

2 thoughts on “I Did It

Leave a Reply

